News :
Home » » it’s time to unleash a fired-up Saba on Victory

it’s time to unleash a fired-up Saba on Victory

The last match before the break for the Asian Cup sees a desperate Wanderers take on a Melbourne Victory outfit reeling from a loss against Glory. Victory ran out comfortable 4-1 winners when the two sides met in Round 1 but this should be a much tighter affair in Sydney’s west.
The Wanderers have been uncharacteristically subdued in front of their home fans of late, losing to Brisbane Roar and then drawing 0-0 with the Mariners in their last two matches at ‘Wanderland.’ If they are like that again, then Victory certainly has the firepower to take advantage.
Wanderers coach Tony Popovic has recalled imports Vitor Saba and Seyi Adeleke to his squad for this clash, while defender Brendan Hamill is also back after missing the clash with Central Coast on New Year’s Day. 
Hamill is likely to slot straight in at centre-back, which would allow Iacopo La Rocca to go back into his preferred midfield role. With the side struggling for goals, surely it’s time to unleash a fired-up Saba on Victory. 


Tuesday, 6 January 2015
Pirtek Stadium, Sydney
Kick-Off: 7.30pm (Local) (7.30pm AEDT)
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 2.Shannon COLE, 4.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (c), 5.Brendan HAMILL, 6.Antony GOLEC, 7.Labinot HALITI, 8.MATEO POLJAK, 10.Vitor SABA, 12 .Nikita RUKAVYTSYA,15.Yianni PERKATIS, 16.Jaushua SOTIRIO, 18.Iacopo LA ROCCA, 19.Mark BRIDGE, 20.Dean BOUZANIS(gk), 22.Seyi ADELEKE, 23.Jason TRIFIRO, 32.Daniel ALESSI, 33.Nick KALMAR
***two to be omitted***
Ins 22.Seyi ADELEKE (promoted), 10.Vitor SABA (promoted), 5.Brendan HAMILL (promoted)
Outs 36.Michael TRAJKOVSKI (not selected)
Unavailable 11.Brendon SANTALAB (shoulder – indefinite), 34.Golgol MEBRAHTU (knee – indefinite), 9.Tomi JURIC (international duty – 1 match), 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC (international duty – 1 match)
Melbourne Victory 1.Nathan COE (GK), 2. Jason GERIA, 4. Nick ANSELL, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (C), 7. Gui FINKLER, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 11. Connor PAIN, 13. Andrew NABBOUT, 14. Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 16. Rashid MAHAZI, 18. Dylan MURNANE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Carl VALERI, 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 24. Scott GALLOWAY, 26. Jordan BROWN.
Share this post :