News :
Home » » Argentina recall Gonzalo Higuain with Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero out 

Argentina recall Gonzalo Higuain with Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero out 

Argentina have left injured stars Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero out of their squad for World Cup qualifiers in November but welcomed back striker Gonzalo Higuain.
After a poor start to their campaign last month, Argentina will be challenged to turn around their fortunes without some top players when they host Brazil on Nov. 12, followed by a trip to Colombia five days later.
Messi hasn't played since suffering a knee injury on Sept. 26 and is fighting to be fit for Barcelona's game against Real Madrid on Nov. 21.
Aguero injured his leg while on international duty last month, with Manchester City manager Manuel Pellegrini saying last week that the striker faces another month on the sidelines. 
Their absences led Argentina manager Tata Martino to recall Higuain for the first time since this summer's Copa America as the Albiceleste prepare to face Brazil and Colombia.
The striker has been in fine form this season for Napoli, scoring seven goals in his past eight games.
Marcos Rojo, Ever Banega and Enzo Perez also return for Argentina after injuries prevented them from joining the team for the first two qualifiers, when Argentina lost at home to Ecuador and could only manage a goalless draw at Paraguay.
The full squad:
Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Manchester United), Nahuel Guzman (Tigres), Agustin Marchesin (Santos Laguna)
Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Facundo Roncaglia (Fiorentina), Ezequiel Garay (Zenit St Petersburg), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City), Ramiro Funes Mori (Everton), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United), Emmanuel Mas (San Lorenzo)
Midfielders: Matias Kranevitter (River Plate), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Ever Banega (Sevilla), Enzo Perez (Valencia), Javier Pastore (Paris Saint-Germain), Erik Lamela (Tottenham)
Forwards: Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Carlos Tevez (Boca Juniors), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris Saint-Germain), Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Nicolas Gaitan (Benfica), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli).

Share this post :