Latest News

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Fletcher rapt to be Freo’s first winner of Ross Glendinning Medal

Six West Coast and two Fremantle players will join the illustrious company of Ross Glendinning Medal winners at next Sunday’s western derby.
The Weekend West can reveal star Eagles Brett Heady, Guy McKenna, Dean Kemp, Fraser Gehrig, Chris Lewis and Scott Cummings and dynamic Dockers Adrian Fletcher and Clive Waterhouse have been recognised for their best-on-ground feats before the inaugural medal was awarded in 2001. They will receive retrospective medals.
A three-man media panel comprising The Weekend West’s chief football writer Mark Duffield and 6PR’s Karl Langdon and Kim Hagdorn cast the votes on the derbies from 1995 to 2000.
Heady and McKenna were voted best afield twice. Drew Banfield and Glen Jakovich will become multiple winners, adding to their medals in 2001.
As predicted, inaugural Fremantle captain Ben Allan will have his name added to the gong for next weekend’s derby.
It will now be known as the Glendinning-Allan Medal.
Glendinning will present the medal at West Coast home games and Allan will have the honour when Fremantle host the match. The retrospective winners will be invited to attend the derby.
Fletcher, who will become the Dockers’ first winner, is coaching in Queensland and unableto attend, but said he was honoured. He amassed 39 possessions and kicked a goal when Fremantle finally broke the Eagles’ derby stranglehold in round 16, 1999.
“To play well on the day in an atmosphere that’s like a final means I am really privileged to win the medal,” Fletcher said.
“When you look at names like Guy McKenna, Brett Heady, Chris Lewis and Glen Jakovich, being on an honour board with those players makes me feel really privileged. We hadn’t beaten them before that day and we got Hollywood-like status. It was a special day for the club and for the players. I can remember it vividly. It was a great day.”
Controversy erupted before the derby in round six this year when Fremantle said they would no longer present a Glendinning Medal. The WA Football Commission brokered a deal to have the medal renamed to include a prominent former Docker.
“I think it’s a great acknowledgement for Fremantle that they are now part of the medal,” said Allan, who captained and coached Fremantle, before joining the board.
“The fact that it’s me is humbling because it could have gone to any number of former players.
“The logic of being the two first captains is a sound one, though. My concern was always that it would take something away from Ross.
“But I think his achievements have really been acknowledged in the Hall of Fame. This is more about one game of footy.”
R7 1995: Brett Heady
R22 1995: Brett Heady
R1 1996: Glen Jakovich
R16 1996: Guy McKenna
R3 1997: Drew Banfield
R18 1997: Dean Kemp
R3 1998: Fraser Gehrig
R18 1998: Chris Lewis
R1 1999: Guy McKenna
R16 1999: Adrian Fletcher
R6 2000: Scott Cummings
R21 2000: Clive Waterhouse