Latest News

Monday, February 11, 2019

Kerr hat-trick puts Glory into W-League grand final

Matildas superstar Sam Kerr has fired Perth into the W-League grand final, scoring a memorable hat-trick and setting up another goal as the Glory came from behind to defeat Melbourne Victory 4-2 in extra-time.

Kerr set a record for the most goals scored in W-League finals as she led the Glory's comeback to force extra time and then win a stunning semi-final for her team against the winners of the Premier's Plate.
The record for finals goals had rested with Tameka Butt, who scored six goals for Brisbane Roar before joining Melbourne City at the start of this season.
Perth went behind after two minutes, when Christine Nairn fired in from the right wing to catch goalkeeper Eliza Campbell unawares, as the ball went in at the near post.
The Glory might have had two penalties in the first half when Laura Alleway handballed and Ella Mastrantonio nudged Kerr from behind in the box.
The task got tougher for the Victory when goalkeeper Casey Dumont failed a half-time concussion test and was replaced by Beth Mason-Jones.
Kerr finally left her mark when she got between two defenders to bury Rachel Hill's cross on 72 minutes.
American forward Hill then appeared to win it for Glory in the 86th minute, heading home Kerr's cross as Perth cashed in on their momentum and coasted towards the grand final.
But in the fourth minute of added time, the Victory's Grace Maher pushed the ball home from close range for the equaliser.
Kerr struck again in extra time, when she chipped over Mason-Jones into the Victory net to put the Glory ahead.
Kerr completed her hat-trick on 107 minutes when Leticia McKenna placed a perfect pass for the unmarked Glory striker to finish and celebrate with her trademark backflip.
"I don't normally score in finals so its pretty special for me," Kerr said.
"Once it went to extra time … I knew we were going to win it."
It is the third-straight season in which the premiers have failed to win their semi-final and missed out on the grand final.
The Glory will play the Sydney FC in the grand final, after the Sky Blues beat a 10-woman Brisbane Roar 2-1 in the second semi.