Latest News

Friday, January 3, 2020


The ATP Cup is an annual 24-country team competition featuring AU$22 million US$15 million prize money and a maximum of 750 singles and 250 doubles ATP Rankings points. ATP is staging the event in partnership with Tennis Australia.

The ATP Cup will begin the ATP Tour each season, starting on the Friday before Week 1. The tournament will be a 10-day event finishing on the final Sunday of Week 1. The inaugural event in 2020 will be held from Friday 3 – Sunday 12 January. The ATP Cup will be played alongside an ATP 250 event in Doha that will occupy Week 1 of the calendar. The group stages competition will be hosted across three Australian cities - Brisbane, Sydney and Perth - over six days. Immediately following the group stages will be the Final Eight knockout stage – played over four days at Ken Rosewall Arena in Sydney.

The 24 teams are divided into six groups of four for group stage, round-robin play. The six winners of each group and the two best second-placed finishers across the groups emerge to contest the Final Eight.

Each tie will comprise two singles and one doubles match. The country winning two matches wins the tie. Every country will be guaranteed to play three ties in the group stages. Singles will be best-of-three tie-break sets. Doubles will feature No-Ad scoring and a Match Tie-break in lieu of a third set. 


At the first entry deadline (13 September), the Top 18 countries in the ATP Cup Standing gained acceptance into the event based on the singles ATP Ranking of the country’s No. 1 singles player. The qualifying country’s second-highest-ranked singles player gained acceptance at the same time. Because it was not among the Top 18 teams, host country Australia was granted a wild card into the event. If either of the two accepted singles players drop outside their country’s top two ranked singles players at the second entry deadline (13 November), either player may withdraw from the event. Remaining team members (up to an additional three players) will gain acceptance at the 13 November entry deadline, based on the current ATP Rankings.
Rankings to be used for entries are the 52-week ATP Rankings. A Protected Ranking can be used to enter provided the player’s Protected Ranking is valid through the entry deadline for which he is eligible. Protected Ranking will not be used for team seeding.
At the second entry deadline (13 November), the remaining five countries (Nos. 20-24) will qualify and all qualified players from all teams will be committed.
A player who changes nationality after the entry deadline will not be eligible to play for his new country in the current year. A player may only play ATP Cup for one country during his career. 
Coaching will be permitted by the team captain, the competing player’s individual coach or fellow player team members. Coaching advice is not limited to changeovers and set breaks, but it shall not interfere with the speed of play.